Books

The Daughter of Highland Hall

Edwardian Brides Series, Book 2

ISBN 10: 1601424981

ISBN 13: 978-1601424983

Published by WaterBrook Multnomah, Released October 7, 2014

Listen to this interview about the story behind The Daughter of Highland Hall.

Read Chapter One

Fans of Downton Abbey, Jane Eyre, and Pride & Prejudice will enjoy this pure and inspiring romance taking place in Edwardian England amid a clash of cultures and changing times.

Eighteen-year-old Katherine Ramsey travels to London with her family to make her debut into society and hopefully find her future husband. Her overbearing aunt insists she must secure a proposal from a wealthy young man who is in line to inherit his father’s title and estate. But Katherine questions her aunt’s plans when she gets to know Jonathan Foster, a handsome medical student and strong Christian who is determined to protect the poor and vulnerable in London’s East End. When a family scandal puts a damper on Katherine’s hopes for the season, she has time to volunteer with Jonathan, caring for children in one of London’s poorest areas, and romance blossoms. Katherine’s faith grows and she begins to envision a different future with Jonathan. But when Katherine’s work in the East End puts her in danger, Jonathan distances himself from Katherine to protect her. A wealthy suitor reappears, and Katherine must choose which path to follow.

Please visit The Daughter of Highland Hall Pinterest Board to see images of the characters, clothing, and setting.

Praise for The Daughter of Highland Hall

“In The Daughter of Highland Hall, Carrie Turansky sweeps readers back into the early nineteen hundreds, to the glamour of London society as well as the desperate world of those struggling to survive in London’s East End. This beautiful story is filled with endearing characters who will steal your heart and surprises that will keep you engrossed until the very end.”

—Melanie Dobson, award-winning author of Chateau of Secrets and The Courier of Caswell Hall

“From London’s East End to the royal presentation court, Carrie Turansky pulls back the curtain on Edwardian England in this sweeping new drama. The Daughter of Highland Hall will delight romance fans as well as those who like a peek behind the scenes into the lives of the elite and the people who serve them. A delight from the first page to the last.”

—Carla Stewart, award-winning author of Stardust and The Hatmaker’s Heart

“Giving vivid entry into an Edwardian England setting, from genteel ballrooms to the gritty streets of London’s East End, author Carrie Turansky has created a cast of multilayered, delightfully written characters I found engaging from beginning to end. The Daughter of Highland Hall is at its heart a story of personal courage, one sure to please fans of Turansky’s The Governess of Highland Hall, as well as readers coming fresh to the series with this book.”

—Lori Benton, author of Burning Sky and The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn

“From first line to last, The Daughter of Highland Hall is a sumptuous Edwardian feast, brimming with romance, history, and spiritual truths. Society and its glitter fade away as what truly matters comes into play. A delightful addition to the Edwardian Brides series!”

—Laura Frantz, author of Love’s Fortune

The Daughter of Highland Hall sweeps readers back to historic London where a cast of endearing characters work toward a heart-stirring cause. With excitement happening both upstairs and down, this charming romance is a beautiful addition to Carrie Turansky’s Edwardian Brides series and a reminder that the greatest joys can arrive in the unlikeliest of ways.”

—Joanne Bischof, award-winning author of the Cadence of Grace series

“A debutante. A medical missionary. Two disparate worlds. The Daughter of Highland Hall celebrates God’s ability to open eyes and soften hearts.”

—Mona Hodgson, author of nearly forty books for adults and children, including the Sinclair Sisters of Cripple Creek series, the Quilted Heart novellas, and Prairie Song

The Daughter of Highland Hall is a compelling Edwardian love story that crosses class divides, where characters learn that snagging a titled and wealthy spouse is not the first concern of life. Carrie Turansky’s meticulously researched and beautifully written novel lifts the heart, drawing the reader closer to Christ and reminding her of the possibilities of a faith-driven marriage. Characters that inspire readers to rekindle their romance with the Lord of life as well as with their own husband… How many books can do that?”

—Cathy Gohlke, Christy Award–winning author of Promise Me This and Band of Sisters