The Elusive Miss Ellison

Hi Friends, today I want to introduce author Carolyn Miller and give you the inside scoop about her new Regency novel, The Elusive Miss Ellison, and her book launch giveaway. Keep reading for details!

Regency romance fans have another must-read novel to add to their lists: Carolyn Miller’s The Elusive Miss Ellison. Enjoy the spirited exchanges between the bluestocking minister’s daughter and the bruised war hero as they move past pride and presumption to a humbled appreciation of God’s grace and the true strength of love. These two lonely hearts may each have something the other needs. But with society’s opposition, ancestral obligations, and a shocking family secret, there may be too many obstacles in their way. Settle in for a cozy night of reading with a cuppa and a Kindle from Carolyn!

One grand prize winner will receive:

Enter today by clicking the icon below, but hurry! The giveaway ends on March 22. The winner will be announced March 23 on the Litfuse blog.

{MORE ABOUT THE ELUSIVE MISS ELLISON}

The Elusive Miss Ellison (Kregel, February 2017)

Handsome appearance counts for naught unless matched by good character and actions.

That’s the firm opinion of not-so-meek minister’s daughter Lavinia Ellison. So even though all the other villagers of St. Hampton Heath are swooning over the newly returned seventh Earl of Hawkesbury, she is not impressed. If a man won’t take his responsibilities seriously and help those who are supposed to be able to depend on him, he deserves no respect from her. In Lavinia’s pretty, gray eyes, Nicholas Stamford is just as arrogant and reckless as his brother–who stole the most important person in Livvie’s world.

Nicholas is weighed down by his own guilt and responsibility, by the pain his careless brother caused, and by the legacy of war he’s just left. This quick visit home to St. Hampton Heath will be just long enough to ease a small part of that burden. Asking him to bother with the lives of the villagers when there’s already a bailiff on the job is simply too much to expect.

That is, until the hoydenish, intelligent, and very opinionated Miss Ellison challenges him to see past his pain and pride. With her angelic voice in his head, he may even be beginning to care. But his isn’t the only heart that needs to change.

These two lonely hearts may each have something the other needs. But with society’s opposition, ancestral obligations, and a shocking family secret, there may be too many obstacles in their way.

Fans of Georgette Heyer, Lori Wick, and Julie Klassen will enjoy the spirited exchanges between the bluestocking minister’s daughter and the bruised war hero as they move past pride and presumption to a humbled appreciation of God’s grace and the true strength of love.

Learn more and purchase a copy.

Carolyn Miller lives in New South Wales, Australia, with her husband and four children. A longtime lover of Regency romance, Carolyn’’s novels have won a number of RWA and ACFW contests. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers and Australasian Christian Writers.

Find out more about Carolyn at https://www.carolynmiller.org.

Shine Like the Dawn ~ Book Launch!

Hi Friends, 

It’s Release Day for my new English historical novel, Shine Like the Dawn, and I can’t wait to share this story with you! Please read on for some fun events and giveaways happening this week and next!

When you read Shine Like the Dawn you’ll be swept away to England in 1903 with family drama, inspiration, romance, and a mystery. Visit your local bookstore or order your copy online.  Here’s a summary of the story:

“In a quiet corner of northern Edwardian England, Margaret Lounsbury diligently works in her grandmother’s millinery shop, making hats and caring for her young sister, Violet. Several years earlier, a terrible event shattered their idyllic family life and their future prospects. When Maggie discovers her father’s journal she begins to wonder if what happened to her family that day on the lake might not have been an accident.

Maggie’s childhood friend, Nathaniel Harcourt, returns from serving in the Royal Navy and inherits his father’s estate, Morningside Manor. He also assumes partial control of his father’s engineering company and the duty of repaying an old debt to Maggie’s family. But years of separation between Nate and Maggie have taken a toll, and Maggie is uncertain if she can trust her old friend, especially when his family may be tied to the tragedy that changed the course of her life.

Can Maggie let go of the resentment that keeps her from forgiving Nate–and being reconciled with God? Will the search for the truth about the tragedy draw the two friends closer or leave them both with broken hearts?

You can read Shine Like the Dawn’s prologue and first chapter on this page.

I hope you’ll join me on my Facebook Author Page Tuesday – Saturday, Feb. 21 – 25, at 3:00 pm Eastern for some fun live video chats. I’ll be talking about the story behind Shine Like the Dawn, the characters, the setting, and more. You can ask questions and leave comments, and I’ll have a new giveaway each day. Even if you can’t listen live you’ll have 24 hours after each video posts to leave a comment and enter the drawing. Here are some of the fun prizes you could win: A lovely garden tea towel, A Keep Calm Tea Canister Set filled with some of my favorite teas, one of two pretty mugs, and pen and note set.

 

The Book Launch Celebration continues with a prize package giveaway hosted here on my blog February 25 – March 6.  Stop by and enter for your chance to win some lovely prizes including a signed copy of Shine Like the Dawn, a journal set, a pen set, and a lovely reading journal.

 

I’m delighted that Shine Like the Dawn is being featured on a Celebrate Lit Blog Tour February 21 – March 6. Follow the tour and enter a four-book giveaway! For more info visit the Celebrate Lit Blog Tour Page.

Thank so much for purchasing your copy of Shine Like the Dawn and joining in the celebration with me!

Until next time . . . Happy Reading!

Carrie

Local Book Launch~October 5th

Carrie and Scott

Carrie and her husband Scott, pastor of Calvary Chapel Living Hope, Robbinsville, New Jersey

Hi Friends,

I hope you’ll mark your calendar and plan to join me on Sunday, October 5th, for the official launch of my new book, The Daughter of Highland Hall, Book 2 in the Edwardian Brides Series.

I’m grateful for my church, Calvary Chapel Living Hope, and I’m excited they’re willing to celebrate this book launch with me during our 10 o’clock Sunday Morning service. I’ll be sharing briefly about the story and about using books as an outreach tool. Then after the service I’ll be signing and giving away copies of The Daughter of Highland Hall, one per family. We’ll also be serving some special homemade British refreshments that day.

Daughter Highland HallI hope you’ll come and enjoy the worship service with us and pick up your copy of The Daughter of Highland Hall! For information about Calvary Chapel Living Hope and directions please visit our church website: www.takejesushome.com.

If you don’t live close enough to attend, I hope you’ll pick up a copy at your local bookstore, or you can order it from my website.

Blessings and Happy Reading,

Carrie

Come and Join Me for a Book~Signing Luncheon Tea!

Paris in a Cup Tea PartyHi Friends, If you live in the Orange County, California area, I hope you’ll join me and my friends Valerie and her sister Cheryl, who is the owner of Paris in a Cup, as we launch my newest book, The Daughter of Highland Hall, Saturday, October 18th with a book signing luncheon Tea. The Meet and Greet and book signing starts at 10:30, and the Luncheon begins at 11:00 am.

Daughter Highland HallFans of Downton Abbey, Jane Eyre, and Pride & Prejudice will enjoy this pure and inspiring romance, taking place in Edwardian England amid a clash of cultures and changing times. This is book 2 of the Edwardian Brides Series, but don’t worry this enjoyable read stands alone. In case you want to start with the first book in the series, The Governess of Highland Hall, I will have extra copies on hand for you to purchase.

I’ll be sharing about my visit to Highclere Castle where Downton Abbey is filmed, and how that series inspired my novels. I’m dressing up Edwardian style, and you’re welcome to dress up if you’d like, but that’s optional. Your paid reservation includes a copy of The Daughter of Highland Hall, a lovely lunch prepare by Chef Josh Backstrom, delicous tea, a question and answer time, and applicable tax and gratuity. The cost is $49.95. Seating is very limited; reservations are prepaid and are non-refundable.

Tea FoodTo make your reservation visit www.parisinacup.com or call 714-538-9411.

Paris in a Cup is a lovely Tea salon, visit their website to see the photos.

To learn more about The Daughter of Highland Hall visit this page.

I hope to see you there!

Carrie

She Does Good Hair by Terri Gillespie

She Does Good HairHi Friends,

Today I am celebrating the launch of a wonderful new eBook, She Does Good Hair, by Terri Gillespie

Here is my 5-Star review:

What a great story! Terri Gillespie has created characters that step off the page and into your heart. She Does Good Hair is a modern Ruth and Naomi story featuring Shira, a successful stylist with all kinds of issues, who inherits her aunts rundown salon with the provision that she must keep on the three stylist who work there. But those stylists are not so sure they want to work with Shira. There’s drama and romance and some wonderful lessons to take to heart. You’ll laugh and you’ll cry and I think you’ll be very glad you downloaded this wonderful novel! I highly recommend it!

Terri is hosting several fun events to celebrate the launch of She Does Good Hair.

Terri GillespieOnline Chat with Terri Gillespie

Grab your copy of She Does Good Hair and join Terri for a live author video chat on Thursday, October 3rd at 8:00 PM EDT (that’s 7:00 Central, 6:00 Mountain, & 5:00 Pacific)!

Terri will be hosting the chat and Q&A, as well as announcing a grand prize winner at the end! There will  be plenty of fun giveaways during the course of the party! Follow this link to register for this fun event.

Terri's book launch party

Book Launch Party

On Saturday, Oct.5, 3:00 – 5:00pm Salon Bella Gente, is hosting a fabulous event to celebrate one of their clients’ newest eBook, She Does Good Hair, by Terri Gillespie! Prizes, complimentary blow drys, refreshments, and some surprises! Bring your KINDLE, iPod, laptop, or smart phone to download this wonderfully funny and endearing novel.Here is the link to RSVP and see the details!

She Does Good Hair Prize

Grand Prize Giveaway

SHE DOES GOOD HAIR GIVEAWAY! Participants in the Release Day, Salon, and Chat Events are automatically entered into the big giveaway! The winner will receive the official SHE DOES GOOD HAIR tote filled with surprises–valued at over $75! Attendees to two or more events increase their chances of winning.

You can connect with Terri on Facebook, and you can learn more about Terri and her books here!